#2 Book Review: ‘The Food of Love’ by Amanda Prowse

(Side note: this is my first ever book review! I hope this doesn’t come off as too harsh)

I really wanted to love this book. Trust me, I tried, but something in this book really didn’t work for me.

The food of love is follows a ‘perfect’ family and their journey through Lexi’s anorexia. Now – don’t get me wrong – I’m glad there’s another book on this extremely important topic. Frankly, I don’t think enough books talk about eating disorders as much as they should.

The thing about TFOL is that it just felt very textbook-ish to me, as if the author was following a set of rules and wanted to get them all in. There some things a character said that no one would ever say in real life and it was this unauthentic speech, along with the seemingly 2D characters that nearly put me off altogether at the start.

It’s not all doom and gloom though – as the story progresses, we see how the family are plagued with anorexia and how it affects everyone, not just Lexi. Relationships begin to breakdown and the characters begin to come to life a bit more, but they remained quite flat to me and I wish I could’ve seen more development on this front.

The book does get progressively better, it’s just a shame the great style of writing at the end wasn’t consistent throughout.

One thing I will say though, is even though I wasn’t very attached to the characters, I could feel the pain of the parents. The emotion felt very raw to me and this is what kept me hooked to the last page.

★★★

Leave a Reply

