#5 Book Review: Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman

I was given a copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I kept putting off writing this review and I don’t know why that is.

I read the book in two sittings – in the first one, I just kept reading until I could barely keep my eyes open. I just couldn’t put it down. I feel like a lot of that had to do with the style of writing: Bateman’s style so similar to mine it was baffling and I was intrigued by how it worked in a finished novel.

Someone Else’s Summer is the story of Anna whose sister dies in a car crash on the day of her graduation. The majority of the book follows Anna’s roadtrip with childhood friend Cameron after Anna finds a list in Anna’s room for ‘the best summer ever’ and chooses to complete it in memory of her sister.

There was a lot I liked about this book: I liked the characters, and even though there was very little in common with Anna and I, I still felt like I could relate to her a lot and I’ve never really experienced that before. While Cameron is a very prominent character in this story, he felt like a stranger to me since his background was never really talked about and I didn’t feel like I knew him very much at all. My head tells me this is a good thing – after all, the book is about grieving and loss, not about the boy next door.

While there was some emotion in this book, I feel like there wasn’t nearly enough as there could’ve been. Anna’s world had just been turned upside down and I wished how this affected her was explored more.

Even though I originally requested this book because of the gorgeous cover (oops, my bad), I like the idea of this book a lot but unfortunately it didn’t really meet my expectations. I sussed out the plot twist way before it happened, but nevertheless, it was light and enjoyable that I’d recommend if you were looking for a teenage read with a heavy topic overcast.

★★★

Leave a Reply

