#8 Book Review: A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold

I was given a copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

How do you review a book a mother has wrote about her own son? How do I write about how this book made me feel? How I found it haunting, fascinating and eye-opening all at once?

‘A Mother’s Reckoning’ is a rare insight into the life of a parent of a school shooter. I knew a little about the Columbine tragedy and felt lucky to read this with an open mind. We don’t give much thought to the parents of killers after such incidents, but we forget they are people, and we forget that their child, at the very least, was too.

In this memoir, the Klebold’s family life is stripped bare for us all to see. I could feel Klebold’s pain ache in my own heart, and the scary part is that I don’t think it was a barely a scratch on the surface to how she feels and how she has after all this time.

The Columbine tragedy is what it is – a tragedy. Nevertheless, we are able to glance slightly into Dylan Klebold’s life before the awful incident and it’s both interesting and terrible to see how his family, his friends and the outside world saw him. Some might see school shootings to be a very black and white, but this book shows that that’s never the case.

I would highly recommend this book to those who are interested in the topic, but it’s not the faint-hearted.

All in all, I’m glad I took the time out to read this. Sometimes I couldn’t put it down. It’s taken me weeks to write this review because I couldn’t find the words I wanted to say. I know this book, this life, is something that will stay with me for a long time.

★★★★★

Leave a Reply

